Schedule of Nitte University’s Maiden International Film Festival from April 24 to 27

Mangaluru is all set to witness International Film Festival (NIFF) organised by Nitte University from April 24 to 27, 2017 at Bharath Cinemas, Bharath Mall, Mangaluru.

It is an initiative by Nitte Institute of Communication aiming at showcasing award winning, and critically acclaimed cinema from across the world to audiences in Mangaluru.

The maiden film festival of Nitte University will be inaugurated by Mr. Sunil Sukhtankar, prominent Marathi director who is best known for films such as Kaasav (2016), Astu (2013) Devrai (2004), Vaastupurush (2002) and Doghi (1995).

Renowned Marathi film ‘Kaasav’ directed by Sumitra Bhave and Sunil Sukthankar will be the opening film of NIFF. ‘Kaasav ‘ recently won the Golden Lotus Award, at the 64th National Awards awarded for being the Best Film. Starring Iravati Harshe and Alok Rajwade, the film has also been winning a lot of awards at various Film Festivals across India and abroad.

A total of 55 films, from five different countries and many national award winning films from Kannada, Tulu, Hindi, Malayalam, Bengali, Gujarati and Marathi will be screened at NIFF.

Prominent film makers who will be joining us are:

  • Sunil Sukthankar, Marathi (National Award Winner)
  • P N Ramachandra, Hindi/Tulu (National Award Winner)
  • Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Bengali/Hindi (National Award Winner)
  • Pradipta Bhattacharya, Bengali (National Award Winner)
  • Bijaya Jena, Odia, (National Award Winner)
  • Rajesh Mapuskar, Marathi/Hindi (National Award Winner)
  • Mansore, Kannada (National Award Winner)
  • Nikhil Manjoo, Kannada (National Award Winner)
  • Mikhil Musale, Gujarati (National Award Winner)
  • Chetan Mundadi, Tulu (National Award Winner)
  • Sajin Babu, Malayalam (Kerala State Award Winner)
  • B M Giriraj, Kannada (Karnataka State Award Winner)
  • D Satyaprakash, Kannada, (Karnataka State Award Winner)
  • Prithvi Konanur, Kannada (Karnataka State Award Winner)
  • Arvind Sastry, Kannada (Karnataka State Award Winner)
  • Lijo Jose Pellissery, Malayalam
  • Giridev Hassan, Kannada
  • Mangesh Joshi, Marathi
  • Niranjan Kumar Kujur, Bengali/Khuduk
  • Medini Kelamane, Kannada
  • Raveendra Parameshwarappa, Kannada

Actors who will be joining us are:

Master Manohar, Kannada (National Award Winner)

Shrunga, Kannada
Pratik Gandhi, Gujarati

Harisharva, Kannada

Hemanth, Kannada

Apart from these film screenings, a session on script-writing will be held by the National Award winning filmmaker P N Ramacahndra. Also an interactive session with young filmmakers by Rajesh Mapuskar, Golden Lotus Winner for best director at the 64th National Film Awards, on the “Craft of Filmmaking” will be held.

The festival will see participation from students and audience from around Mangaluru and Udupi.

All screenings are going to be free of cost at the film festival for the public.

Some of the films and directors that have confirmed their screening at our film festival include:

In Kannada:

  • Reservation by Nikhil Manjoo (National Award Winner)
  • Amaraavati by B M Giriraj (Karnataka State Award Winner)
  • Railway Children by Pruthvi Konanur (Karnataka State Award Winner)
  • Zero Made in India by Giridev Hassan
  • Harivu by Mansore (National Award Winner)
  • Jatta by B M Giriraj
  • Kahi by Arvind Sastry (Karnataka State Award Winner)
  • Kendasampige by Suri
  • Harikatha Prasanga by Ananya Kasarvalli (Best Kannada film at BIFFES)


  • Madipu by Chetan Mundadi (National Award Winner)
  • Suddha by P N Ramachandra


  • Kammatipaadam by Rajeev Ravi (Kerala State Award Winner)
  • Unto the Dusk by Sajin Babu
  • Kaliyachan by Farook Abdulrahiman (Kerala State Award Winner)
  • Angamaly Diaries by Lijo Jose Pellissery


  • Kaasav by Sumitra Bhave, Sunil Sukthankar (National Award Winner)
  • Ventilator by Rajesh Mapuskar (National Award Winner)
  • Lathe Joshi by Mangesh Joshi (Winner of 2nd Best Film at BIFFES)


  • Bakita Byaktigato by Pradipta Bhattacharya (National Award Winner)
  • Antaheen by Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury (National Award Winner)
  • The Violin Player by Bauddhayan Mukherji
  • Teenkahon by Bauddhayan Mukherji


  • Amdavad ma Famous by Hardik Mehta  (National Award Winner)
  • Wrong Side Raju by Mikhil Musale (National Award Winner)
  • Good Road by Gyan Arora (National Award Winner)


  • Haal E Kangaal by P N Ramachandra (National Award Winner)
  • Raman Raghav 2.0 by Anurag Kashyap
  • Island City by Ruchika Oberoi
  • Ugly by Anurag Kashyap
  • Qissa by Anup Singh (National Award Winner)
  • Pink by Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury (National Award Winner)
  • Masaan by Neeraj Ghaywan (National Award Winner)
  • Queen by Vikas Bahl (National Award Winner)

International Films

  • Soegija, Indonesia
  • Sanctuary, Germany/Ireland
  • 24 Weeks, Germany
  • Red Butterfly Dream, Sri Lanka
  • Destiny, China

Given below is the detailed schedule of the 4 day film festival (click on the images below to open the gallery)-

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.